Rhode Island Homestead Laws by State

Code Section:  9-26-4, 4.1

Maximum Value of Property
$500,000 for home or other covered property; additional “wildcard” exemption of up to $6,500 may be claimed for the protection of any other assets (and may be added onto the home exemption)y

Maximum Acreage (Urban)
N/A

Maximum Acreage (Rural)
N/A

Rhode Island does not have an exemption for married couples.


Inside Rhode Island Homestead Laws by State